On losing a Mobile

On losing a mobile
………………..haseena

Mom you know what …I lost my mobile for a while today at the College…thankfully got it back….informed my daughter with a huge sigh of relief…

Heyyy buddy whats up…have you been very busy?
Heyyyy no…lost my mobile ( with a tragic tone) and have been out of circulation since then…

Well Well Well….

Losing a mobile is one of the most catastrophic experiences one can have,its more of a psychological setback than a monetary loss.

Believe me I have been through it full time….

One minute I make a call…
then see the bus approaching…
hang up hurriedly…
Push the mobile into some pocket of my handbag…
Hustle among the women to get into the bus…
Find a place to stand…
the conductor approaches….
I search for the money to pay for the ticket…
Get a seat to sit…
Then dive into the pocket again for the mobile…
Ohhhh…it isnt there…
It may be there somewhere at the bottom of the bag…is what I think and settle down till my stop arrives…
I hurry to my office…find a place on the floor and empty the whole handbag upside down…every pocket…every hole and seam is checked and rechecked….
It took me complete two hours to realise that I had truly and definitely been picked…
Oh my poor mobile…

I was devastated…

It was the first day of reporting for the new academic year at my office at Hyderabad….
A day I had looked forward to….to meet all my colleagues…and it turned out to be !!!!!

I was humoured by my colleagues….each one had lost a mobile sometime or the other…lots of sharing…though it was a poor consolation for my loss….

The visual of my cellphone…it having a life of its own…it crying out for me…how could I have been so careless…lots of self scoldings…to self pity…self denial…to self forgiveness….

Me and my mobile….we had a special bond…mornings would start with music files…checking out messages and forwards …communicating to friends and family….gallery full of memories of memorable moments…contacts with numbers accumulated over a long period of time…mobile does become an important organ of ones body…without which we do lose our functioning temporarily…

I did wonder about the new owner of my lost mobile…maybe its been taken care of with lot of love and affection coz it might have been paid for by hard earned money…

Finally ,”Whoever took it needed it more than me..”
Was a genuine thought which gave me much needed solace…
And a small smile blessing my dear lost mobile….may you have a good life…

Goodbye dear…

2 thoughts on “On losing a Mobile

Leave a Reply

